some thoughts

If you like this blog for the pictures, than you may want to skip this one.

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about where God has been leading me (and is continuing to lead), and what that all means.

He brought me to Hope Town, where I was in a job that I didn’t feel qualified for, yet he equipped me to do so much and grow in a way I could never imagined.

He gave me a love and passion for photography that served as a wonderful creative outlet for me there.

He led us to North Carolina, and I really thought he was leading me to start my own photography business.  So much so, that I registered a name (Daylight Photography) and became an LLC.

And then, all of a sudden, he throws me a curve ball:  he puts me in a job where I am doing exactly what I am trained/gifted/created to do… lead others in the musical aspect of worship, and be a part of community.

What???

“So Mary, where’s the struggle here?  You love your job, right?”

Right.

“You’re doing what you wanted to be doing, right?”

Right.

And here’s where my inner 5-year-old kicks in, stomping her foot on the ground.

“But it wasn’t my PLAN!!”

Don’t worry, I will continue to take pictures, and I’ll still be doing some weddings.  Next fall my cousin is getting married, and I am SUPER pumped for their Mexico destination wedding!

But this process is going to be much different than MY PLAN.

And that’s a good thing.

Because God’s plans usually turn out way better than mine…  one time he “messed up” my plans and I ended up meeting my husband.

I just don’t know what this is going to look like.  The full-time business that was in my mind is not going to be a reality.

But ohmygosh, I love my job.

And perhaps God is trying to pry open my fingers of my future, help me let go of this ‘control’ that I think that I have, and embrace the unknown.

Because the unknown, well, that’s a beautiful thing.

3 Responses to “some thoughts”

  1. kristine Says:

    isn’t it strange how messed up plans can be such a blessing? i’m hoping there’s still something in the future with photography…you are quite good. 🙂

  2. babonah Says:

    He “messed up” my plan and I met my husband too! 🙂 It’s so normal to want control – something He and I struggle with a lot! Love you!

  3. Natalie Says:

    I love you.


Leave a Reply

