a quick walk-through

so our apartment is FAR from being done, or even fully furnished… but here are a few photos I’ve taken (with the point and shoot, don’t hate) this week.

the truck:

our apartment

Here’s wes and finn drinking water together… how cute

Wesley helping mike put together the bookshelves:

and this is the staff at Christ UMC, my new church/workplace!

They have ALL been AMAZING to me, so welcoming and helpful.  My first day leading worship was Sunday, at the 8:30am and 5:30pm services.  It was a little intense to meet the band and then lead them/play together immediately, but they were wonderful, worshipful services.  They have asked me to be full-time (yay!!) so I will also take on their Young Adult ministries and help with a few other things here and there.  I am excited for what more is in store for me at Christ Church!

Speaking of young adults… a group from the church went to a Durham Bulls game last night!  It was great!

There is a bull there that breathes smoke and its eyes light up when they score a home run or win the game!

I will definitely keep y’all posted on how things come along here.  Mike had his first day of orientation today at Duke, so he may have some stories for his blog soon, too!

3 Responses to “a quick walk-through”

  1. Brandon Vogt Says:

    I had to smile after seeing the picture of Mike putting together the bookshelf. I was doing the exact same thing about a year-and-a-half ago when we moved into our first apartment:

    On the carpet, trying to put together a Target bookshelf, with the 345-page instruction manual guiding the way. I wish I had a god to help, though; it would have gone much quicker.

  2. Kathleen Vogt Says:

    Brandon, maybe if you had a DOG to help it wouldn’t have collapsed under the weight of our books a year-and-a-half later 😉

    Mike and Mary, such an exciting time! Thank you for sharing! It sounds like your new community is already recognizing the amazing gifts and talents you both have to offer! May God continue to bless your transition to your new home!

  3. Sarah Says:

    The entire transaction above me made me smile. Ya’ll are cute. Take your time with unpacking, and raid the garage sales for furniture. I’ve furnished most of my apartment with garage sales, dollar tree items, big lots, k mart, target, and wal mart, and wonderful books from the library on studio design! I miss you both!


Leave a Reply

