101 in 1001… Here we go!

I really enjoy reading the blogs of other fabulous photographers who inspire me, such as Melissa Jill and Gail Werner.  They are super down-to-earth, and their faith infuses their approach to photography.  What a great example for people like me!

It just so happens that the two of them have each, in the past, posted lists of 101 goals to accomplish within 1001 days (roughly 2.7 years).  Statistics show that people who have goals and write them down are far more likely to get things accomplished than those who don’t.  So what am I waiting for??  Well, it’s much more difficult to come up with 101 goals than you might think.  However, over the last few days, I finally completed my list.  Here it is:

101 in 1001

This is a list of 101 goals to accomplish in 1001 days.   You can use this nifty website to calculate your own addition/subtraction of days!

Start date: Saturday, May 1, 2010

End date: Saturday, January 26, 2013

  • 1.  Visit France
  • 2.  Develop a classy combined blog/website ***completed November 2010
  • 3.  Do an athletic event with Mike (such as a bike race or 5k)
  • 4.  Compose a handwritten letter to a different friend every day for a week
  • 5.  Buy photoshop ***completed August 2010
  • 6.  Take another road trip
  • 7.  Pay for something only in coins
  • 8.  Get my eyes checked
  • 9.  Buy a filing cabinet—and use it! ***completed August 2010
  • 10.  Stay at a B&B in North Carolina
  • 11.  Get a tattoo
  • 12.  Dance in the rain
  • 13.  Learn how to make coffee that Mike LOVES.
  • 14.  Go on a spontaneous trip
  • 15.  Attend a photography workshop (such as Mike Colon, MJ2Day, or Jasmine Star)
  • 16.  See a sea turtle in its natural environment—not in a zoo
  • 17.  Swim in the Pacific
  • 18.  Climb a tree
  • 19.  Buy lemonade from a lemonade stand
  • 20.  Purchase a super wide-angle lens
  • 21.  Take cookies to people working in a gas station on Christmas Eve
  • 22.  Grow something I can eat
  • 23.  Teach Wesley to stay and come
  • 24.  Cut my hair short ***completed 7/28/10
  • 25.  Do the Wii Fit 5 times a week for a month
  • 26.  Design and obtain business cards ***completed November 2010
  • 27.  Host a nice dinner party ***completed 10/9/10
  • 28.  Create a combined website/blog that’s classy ***completed November 2010
  • 29.  See Patty Griffin live (preferably at the Ryman) ***completed 6/2/10
  • 30.  Catch a fish
  • 31.  Create my own stationary
  • 32.  Record a song (on something other than my mac)
  • 33.  Proudly wear high heels ***completed 5/14/10
  • 34.  Write fun/funny letters with pictures to my nephews
  • 35.  Attend WPPI in Los Vegas
  • 36.  Be pregnant
  • 37.  Catch the first leaf of fall, and put it in a scrapbook
  • 38.  Finish said scrapbook
  • 39.  Read **Ahem, finish** 50 books in 1001 days
  • 40.  Build a snowman
  • 41.  Ride the Harry Potter roller coaster
  • 42.  Visit the pacific northwest (Oregon or Washington, or BOTH!)
  • 43.  Find the cause of, and prevent, Wesley’s pungent gas
  • 44.  Purchase a telephoto zoom lens (70-200mm)
  • 45.  Eat something I find in the wild
  • 46.  Go skiing
  • 47.  Visit New York City with Mike
  • 48.  Write a worship song
  • 49.  See a bear in its natural habitat
  • 50.  Photograph a wedding on another continent
  • 51.  Surprise-visit someone
  • 52.  Make something out of seaglass
  • 53.  See a friend’s baby the day/week it is born
  • 54.  Shoot a maternity session
  • 55.  Purchase a Canon 5d ***completed 11/23/10
  • 56.  Paint an accent wall in our home
  • 57.  Use the vegetable steamer Susan gave us
  • 58.  Ride a tandem bike with Mike
  • 59.  Catch up on the LOST episodes I’ve missed, and maybe understand the show
  • 60.  Take a picture on the Golden Gate Bridge
  • 61.  Join a photography community (like PUG) ***completed 9/16/10
  • 62.  Get a massage
  • 63.  Go on a trip with just me and my mom
  • 64.  Enter some photos in a print competition ***completed 9/23/10
  • 65.  Participate in the Buddy Walk
  • 66.  Attend a March Madness game
  • 67.  Rearrange the furniture
  • 68.  Read a book on prayer
  • 69.  Get a canvas of my Africa photo and hang it in our home
  • 70.  Take Natalie Norton out to lunch
  • 71.  Purchase a wireless printer ***completed August 2010
  • 72.  Take Mike to see the farm in Stockton, MO
  • 73.  Shoot 20 weddings a year
  • 74.  Open a Roth IRA ***completed October 2010
  • 75.  Pick blueberries
  • 76.  Go hiking with Mike…without complaining once
  • 77.  Spend a day shopping with my sister-in-law, Jennie
  • 78.  Send my parents/in-laws cards + gifts on their birthdays
  • 79.  Exchange my Man-O-War tote bag for one with a zipper ***completed 7/6/10
  • 80.  Have another voice lesson with Dr. Porter
  • 81.  See a bald eagle
  • 82.  Learn how to lay carpet
  • 83.  Perform a song with Mike
  • 84.  Create a logo ***completed with the help of Brooke Goans, November 2010
  • 85.  Eat a Philly cheese steak in Philadelphia
  • 86.  Go on a walk with my Dad on the Katy Trail
  • 87.  Buy Mike a watch that fits
  • 88.  Go to the Outer Banks in NC
  • 89.  Donate more than I want to give, and embrace the pain
  • 90.  Attend a Day Family Reunion
  • 91.  Go to my first drive-in movie
  • 92.  Take someone to visit Hope Town for the first time
  • 93.  Read all 3 of Scott Kelby’s digital photography books (2/3 completed)
  • 94.  Watch last year’s Christmas Play
  • 95.  Buy a Shootsac with this cover ***completed 7/29/10
  • 96.  Replace my broken ipod ***Completed 5/20/10
  • 97.  Decide on my favorite color and embrace it
  • 98.  Go to bed with all the dishes done for a week straight
  • 99.  Watch a wedding slideshow by a different photog every day for a week
  • 100. Buy a pair of TOMs for someone else ***completed 7/28/10
  • 101. Create a nice album of our first year married

There you have it.  I was halfway through and was tempted to change it to “50 + 1 in 1001” but it just didn’t have the same ring to it.  If you feel so inspired, I challenge you to go write down 5 or 10, or even 101 things to accomplish in the next ___ amount of time.  I will be posting about the accomplishments as they come, so stay tuned!

And since a post is always better with a photo, meet Remy (aka Remington), the cutest puppy since Wesley was 7lbs…

9 Responses to “101 in 1001… Here we go!”

  1. Natalie Says:

    I love your list! I hope to be a part of a few of those in the next couple years. You’re moving here! You’re moving here! I can’t wait!

  2. Karen Day Says:

    I love your list–especially “go on a trip with just mom and me!” I’m making my list now.

  3. Melanie Says:

    Sweet Mary! I love your blog and this list made me miss you so much! I keep your blog in my Google reader so I can stay up on your lovely life. Are you coming to Nashville? I want to meet your husband … I want you to meet mine … I want to share a cup of coffee or a meal!

  4. Tracy Says:

    I can recommend a FANTASTIC B&B in NC :
    http://www.scenicoverlook.com

    Mike and I stayed there once, the owners are fantastic and the place is very pretty.

    LOVE the list!

  5. cha Says:

    very cool!!!

    but #11? – tattoos get ugly when you get old… rethink that one. Piece your belly button, you gorgeous girl with a gorgeous young bod, you can take it out when it doesn’t suit you anymore… tattoos are forever… oh yeah I think Mike has a tattoo / tattoo’s? hmmm…, what can I say… Love You!

  6. Sofreergo Says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  7. #33, done and done. « The Saou Saga Says:

    […] #33, done and done. June 15, 2010 — marysaou Wel, I’ve successfully knocked another one off the ol’ 101 list. […]

  8. I’m on a roll « The Saou Saga Says:

    […] you’re wondering what the heck I’m talking about, it’s this crazy 101 in 1001 list that I made way back in May.  I have almost 3 years to complete all of these tasks– some […]


Leave a Reply

