A Heart of Thanks

Warning:  this post is more personal than most.  I don’t even know if it will make sense, but I need to record this before my memory fades.

Ok, you’ve been warned…

April 9, 2010. New Vision Church.

Aaron Keyes.  Francis Chan.

The Spirit of the Lord came tonight.  It was so wonderful and awesome. The worship leader (Aaron Keyes) began the night with silence, then a humble prayer, followed by an acoustic song that built up to glorious hallelujahs.  I was sobbing, and I can’t even say why, except that I was more aware of His presence than I have been since our wedding.  It was so incredibly powerful, and set the stage for an evening of genuine, humble worship.

Have you ever started praying while you were in bed and accidentally fallen asleep?  I know I have, many times.  Tonight, Francis Chan blatantly addressed the dangers of approaching God casually, without the reverence and awe He deserves.  To help us understand, Francis read a description of God out of Revelation, sitting on the throne, shining with winged beasts that were covered with eyes singing “Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come!” What a wake-up call to think of these terrifying creatures in awe of our Lord.  How could I ever fall asleep speaking to this God?

Tonight, my heart so full of gratitude.  I’m so thankful to the Lord for bringing these humble servants to our little Abaco and encourage new growth and inspire our hearts.  When thanking Francis and Aaron this evening, I couldn’t keep from crying.  I don’t think they will ever know the impact they left with me and many others who were there tonight.

Leave a Reply

