Bird-Watching

I really hope my dad reads this, because the whole day we went on this trip, I couldn’t stop thinking about how much he would love it.

On Wednesday, Mike, his Aunt Nancy, and I all went to Great Abaco to go watch the birds.  I thought the main objective was to see the parrots, and that was part of it, but there was so much more involved than just that.  We get off the ferry and are greeted by Ricky:

There Ricky is– in action.  He was so knowledgeable about not only birds, but all wildlife. It was so cool to hear about different types of mangroves (I didn’t even realize there were more than one kind).

Don’t they look so cool with their binos?

We were hoping to find the famous Abaco Parrots, but they proved to be rather elusive while we were there.  Later, we realized (and by “we” I mean Ricky) that this time of year they are nesting, so they weren’t in their usual haunts.  We saw some really awesome (and hard to find) birds, though!  **If you want to know specifics, just ask Mike.  I’m terrible at remembering details, although I can tell you that one of them was a pintail of sorts.

Amidst our birding, we journeyed over to one of the blue holes that are on the island.  I’ve heard so much about these things, it was great to finally see one!

Mike took this while I was getting my feet wet.  (There were steps to the side, you just can’t see them here.)  Blue holes are sinkholes in the Abacos which actually lead to an underwater cave system.  Keep your eyes out: in August there’s going to be a special on National Geographic on the Blue Holes of Abaco!  How cool is that?!

We’ve had such a fun time with Nan and Nancy.  Thanks for everything!

**edited to add:  I realized I just had an entire post about bird-watching and didn’t actually show any birds.  here:

One Response to “Bird-Watching”

  1. Dave Day Says:

    Mary, so glad to hear that you got to go on your birding trip. It sounds like it was a lot of fun, and I would have loved to have been with you! We will watch for the National Geographic show on the blue holes — that sounds really interesting.


Leave a Reply

