Restoration

If you haven’t heard the Onething Live album, i strongly recommend you purchase it immediately.  The entire cd is great, but one song strikes me in particular today:

Restoration.

It’s performed by David Brymer and Misty Edwards, and listening to it yesterday and today has opened my mind to many new things.

The theme of death and sickness has been thick in my life recently, as well as the lives of many people i know.  It’s not really a subject i can open up easily, nor do i have a handle yet on how to deal with those things.

However, i am strangely encouraged by this song.  It has helped me in many situations when i have been wounded, tired, or just down on myself.  This is the first time i’ve experienced the song in this particular mindset, though.  The words have a profound effect on what both the sick people and the family members can sing as encouragement.

“You’ve taken my pain and called me by a new name.  Tou’ve taken my shame, and in its place you give me joy.”

“You take my mourning, and turn it into dancing.  You take my weeping and turn it into laughing… you take my sadness and turn it into joy.”

This correlates to the verses in Jeremiah almost word-for-word, which read as follows:

“They will be like a well-watered garden, and they will sorrow no more.  Then maidens will dance and be glad, young men and old as well.  I will turn their mourning into gladness; I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.  I will satisfy the priests with abundance, and my people will be filled with my bounty, declares the LORD.”   31:12b-14

Though my heart still grows heavy at times, the song must be ever on my lips…

hallelujah!  YOU make all things new.

One Response to “Restoration”

  1. Karen Day Says:

    This is especially comforting in the loss of Jerry. I’m so glad you posted it. Love you, Mama


Leave a Reply

